h1

Amazing Mexican Madness!

August 12, 2010


It’s funny how the best Mexican food I’ve had in the city isn’t actually in the city, but a suburb. I read about La Posada in Arlington Heights on another food blog and figured I would give it a chance. Not only did I immensely enjoy the lunch, but I liked it so much I went back the following day for brunch. If you in any way like Mexican food, you owe it to yourself to visit this place and try their outstanding spin on Mexican food.

Starting each meal with a pretty unique salsa and lightly salted homemade chips, Lo Posada started out on the right food. While the salsa wasn’t your typical tomato, onion, cilantro, garlic you get other places, it really has a nice sour/sweet taste to it that had me reaching for chip after chip. You also have the option of ordering guacamole, which is made at your table with your choice of “toppings” to mix in.

While the menu offers burritos, tacos, and quesadillas, I chose to go with one of my favorites, the chile relleno, which was fried to a perfect crispy exterior and filled with a rich, melty cheese. Served with some of the best refried beans I’ve ever eaten, perfectly cooked rice, and a cheese enchilada with a dark and sweet red sauce, I don’t think I could have asked for a more satisfying meal.

The brunch options did not disappoint either. Opting for a poblano pepper scramble, it too was served with rice and beans, some avocado slices, and some tortillas. The eggs were cooked to perfection, with creaminess to them, and the added flavors of the peppers really made the dish pop. The breakfast tacos were 3 gigantic tacos, absolutely brimming with flavor, and the Mexican Toast was out of this world French toast seasoned with Mexican spices and honey.

The best part about La Posada is not even the food, which is pretty great as mentioned above. It is the food combined with the friendly staff providing an atmosphere you feel very comfortable in, and the prices really put them over the edge. Entrees run from about $7-15, and appetizers are $4-8. The brunch menu, nothing is over $9. The three tacos? $6. SIX DOLLARS! From now on, when I think Mexican food in the Boston area, I am immediately thinking of La Posada, and figuring out a way to get there as soon as I can.

La Posada Restaurante on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

