h1

Cemita Heaven

March 28, 2010

I love tacos. I LOVE THEM. I can’t say this enough. For about a year I sold t-shirts that just had a picture of a taco on them. Who would have thought though going to a restaurant specializing in tacos, I would be wooed by their delicious non-taco items, in particular, the cemita. I’d never had a cemita before stepping foot into Dorado Tacos & Cemitas, but now I cannot get them off the brain.

A cemita is a Mexican sandwich that originated in the Puebla area. Layer upon layer of deliciousness is packed between a light sesame seed topped egg cemita bun. Black beans, chipotle adobo, cilantro, Oaxaca cheese, and avocado supply a wonderful compliment to the main filling of your choice. I am partial to the pork milanesa, breaded and fried pork, but there are 4 other options to choose from, including vegetarian options.

Seriously, sinking your teeth into this wonderful sandwich might change your life. I can’t think of any food that just stays in my mind as much as this. Assembled in such a manner that you get a little bit of each element in every bite, the flavor is a lot more complex than I would have expected, and I loved it. I think I could eat one of these things every day.

I also cannot leave out that Dorado might actually have the best tortilla chips in the Boston area. They have a lot of crunch, yet light, and lightly salted. They do have a spicy version available as well.

Now, in terms of deals, the price is under $6. Not too shabby. They also have a special every Wednesday where they have a fish taco for $2, or a taco plate for $5 including 2 tacos, rice, beans, and a charred jalapeno!

Take the trip to Dorado Tacos & Cemitas for a really great deal on some unbelievably great food.

Dorado Tacos & Cemitas on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

