h1

Get Local!

May 6, 2010


I don’t spend much time in places with the word Bistro in the title, and yet there I was with Lizz, seated at Rafiki Bistro on Mass Ave between Porter and Harvard, getting excited to try my meal. Rafiki took over the spot formerly occupied by the Forest Cafe, and has decided to do a French style bistro dedicated to sustainability and being ecologically friendly, with a focus on local ingredients. Since I’ve been on a huge local food kick, I had to try them out!

While the place is fancy on the inside, there is still a casual atmosphere about it. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and late night snacks, they really do have a bit of something on the menu for everyone. Seeing a locally raised grass fed beef burger on the menu, I knew I had to get it. Lizz got the Herb and Garlic Crusted free range chicken. The burger was fine. For $10, it was a decent burger. The meat was juicy, the onions and cheese were just right, but the beef patty was extremely small. It didn’t fill the bun and was a bit of a letdown. I do think it might have been a fluke though, as the table next to us got burgers as well, and theirs looked like it filled the bun very well. The sweet potato fries were seasoned well, but some were overcooked and some were undercooked.

The Herb and Garlic Crusted chicken, oh man. Moist, flavorful, I could go on and on about how much I enjoyed this. The mashed potatoes were creamy and rich, while the broccoli was absolutely fantastic. The natural gravy was such a great compliment to every item on the plate that you couldn’t help but want more.

With a selection of local beers, organic booze, and a seemingly great starting point to a menu, I hope to see the few foibles at Rafiki be fixed over the next coming months. The vegetarian fare seems exciting, with a delicious sounding lentil burger and an eggplant tower that seems interesting. I hope that I can write off these minor errors as opening jitters, and make it a semi-regular spot for burgers and beers with friends when we’re feeling a bit fancy.

Rafiki Bistro on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.